Home U.S. Coin Forum

Need a camera!

Dave99BDave99B Posts: 8,331 ✭✭✭✭✭

OK, so It's time. I've upgraded to Windows 10, and I need a new camera/lens, specifically for coin photography, for eBay auctions. I'm a novice, and I have only used point-and-shoot cameras in the past. I'd like to spend less than $700. Any recommendations?

For reference, I used to use a Sony DSC-S70, and after messing around with lighting, was able to get some great close-ups, for both raw and slabbed material. Any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks all!
Dave

Always looking for original, better date VF20-VF35 Barber quarters and halves, and a quality beer.

Comments

• ctf_error_coinsctf_error_coins Posts: 15,433 ✭✭✭✭✭

you won't like my advice, but I would get a mac, a cannon camera with a good sensor, and a cannon 100mm lens

• BochimanBochiman Posts: 25,284 ✭✭✭✭✭

Dave,

You are bound to get a lot of "advice"....
    People have their preferences.

One guy that I have seen on the forums that takes great shots AND helps out with this type of thing would be Ray (rpmsrpms)

Ping him and see how much a setup would cost you as I think he does setups still.....

For me, I wouldn't go for a mac....never have liked them. I have a Nikon D90 and a Canon T4i.
    Both lines are pretty good. It's the lens that will make the key difference...lens and lighting. At least 100mm would be what I would suggest....especially in that price range.

I've been told I tolerate fools poorly...that may explain things if I have a problem with you. Current ebay items - Nothing at the moment

• yosclimberyosclimber Posts: 4,572 ✭✭✭✭✭
    edited December 30, 2016 4:30PM

Buy the book before the camera?
    https://amazon.com/Numismatic-Photography-2nd-Mark-Goodman/dp/193399004X/
    Highly recommended in many threads on this forum, and only $18.

• FairlanemanFairlaneman Posts: 10,401 ✭✭✭✭✭