Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1808 Large Cent, S277, My Avatar

Hi all:) I am new to this forum but have been sharing and learning on a couple of other coin forums for a few years now. Thought I would give a quick introduction to myself and and my Avatar. I have been collecting for a about 7 years now. I started by collecting ancients exclusively, and then became enthused with US Classic coins, and then started liking late 17th century / early 18th century coins in general with heavy emphasis on US coppers, but if you happen put a nice Conder Token or other large copper in front of me I will be interested. I still collect ancients with a focus on Roman Republic and Third Century Empire. A few Spanish Reales and Dollar sized silver coins have have fallen into my Collection and I seem to be acquiring US quarters with die cracks and other anomalies.

Below is my Avatar. A 1808 US Large Cent, Sheldon # S277. This "12" star variety is a favorite variety of mine, that to my understanding, doesn't strike up star #1 because of the Rx cracked and sunken die. Thus the "12" star variety designation. On my example below you can just make out star 1 if light is just right but it is tough to pick out in the pic.

Feel free to post your Sheldon 277 varieties if you have one:)

Comments

• Options
    CatbertCatbert Posts: 6,663 ✭✭✭✭✭

Welcome! I love early cooper too!

"Got a flaming heart, can't get my fill"
  • Options
    BIGAL2749BIGAL2749 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭✭

Welcome

Interesting cent and a new on me

• Options
    savoyspecialsavoyspecial Posts: 7,270 ✭✭✭✭

Here's mine (obverse pic only) that was a junkbox find.....I refer to it as my '11 star' variety

www.brunkauctions.com

• Options

@ Savoyspecial: Wish junk boxes around here had some lie that! Nice! If you get a chance grab a Rx pic. It would be great to see the arcing die crack.

• Options
    savoyspecialsavoyspecial Posts: 7,270 ✭✭✭✭