Home U.S. Coin Forum

1883 Trade Dollar -- Looks real to me. Pictures are not to good.

Comments

• mannie graymannie gray Posts: 7,259 ✭✭✭✭✭

I dunno...you would expect a proof to be well struck, but the rims don't have enough sharpness for a proof IMO.
    Since this is a proof only date the diagnostics should be fairly well known (though not to me admittedly).
    Just doesn't look right to me.
    But I'm no expert on Trades.

• mbogomanmbogoman Posts: 5,175 ✭✭✭✭✭

The stars, headdress beads, hair and wheat sure look like a proof strike to me...

• amwldcoinamwldcoin Posts: 11,269 ✭✭✭✭✭

I vote not genuine.

• 291fifth291fifth Posts: 24,251 ✭✭✭✭✭

If a trade dollar is raw ... just pass. They are coins that have been so extensively counterfeited that it isn't worth taking a chance on them.

All glory is fleeting.
  • LakesammmanLakesammman Posts: 17,358 ✭✭✭✭✭

I'll post the obverse, then have to get to work. Anyone have time to do the reverse comparison?

"My friends who see my collection sometimes ask what something costs. I tell them and they are in awe at my stupidity." (Baccaruda, 12/03).I find it hard to believe that he (Trump) rushed to some hotel to meet girls of loose morals, although ours are undoubtedly the best in the world. (Putin 1/17) Gone but not forgotten. IGWT, Speedy, Bear, BigE, HokieFore, John Burns, Russ, TahoeDale, Dahlonega, Astrorat, Stewart Blay, Oldhoopster, Broadstruck, Ricko.
  • WeissWeiss Posts: 9,939 ✭✭✭✭✭

The date looks wrong to me. This is a proof-only issue, with strong mirrors. The surfaces don't look right. Why would it be holed? Liberty looks too skinny. Denticals don't look right.

Too many red flags just for the privilege of having a horribly damaged coin. Pass.

We are like children who look at print and see a serpent in the last letter but one, and a sword in the last.
    --Severian the Lame
  • gripgrip Posts: 9,962 ✭✭✭✭✭

Looks like she lost 30 1bs.

• MorganMan94MorganMan94 Posts: 1,330 ✭✭✭✭✭