Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

1892 S Barber Half Dollar, some opinions?

Hello all and thank you for taking the time to view this thread. I am new to coins but am a gold prospector at heart and I often collect anything relate to precious metals and sometimes find old coins while detecting. Recently a new pawn shop near me opened up and I went in seeing if they had any bullion for sale. The woman said she just received a bunch of 90% silver coins and I bought up all of her halves and dimes at a good price. When I got home I started looking at the coins more carefully and found this one stood out to me right away, after some research I believe it is a fairly desirable coin but that's all I can assume for now.

Its for sure a 1892 S barber half dollar that I would say is in very good condition other than the blemish on the shield where it appears someone probably soldered a loop or something to it at one time and now it has been removed. I understand that this would dramatically affect the value, but to my surprise when I took it to a coin dealer near me he quickly wrote it off as being worth melt value, around $6. I have a very hard time believing this and I was hoping for some opinions on this from others. Here are some photo of the coin, any input would be greatly appreciated!

Comments

• Options
    seanqseanq Posts: 8,579 ✭✭✭✭✭

First of all, welcome to the boards!

It's a shame, the obverse of your coin is really nice and has "the look" that a lot of Barber collectors desire. The bigger issue to me on the reverse isn't the solder (which depending on the composition, might be removable) but the rim damage above AMERICA. Even with the damage, the coin is worth way more than melt, but I'll let someone better versed in the series give you a price.

Sean Reynolds

Incomplete planchets wanted, especially Lincoln Cents & type coins.