Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Drawings of the designers of American coins...a poll.

Some of you are probably familiar with the drawings I have been doing for nine years of the designers of American coins. many of you probably do not know HOW I came up with the list of drawings I would do. It was here. More of the story:

Back in 2006 I was working on the idea of a new book on the Lincoln cent (my specialty) and wanted a good, detailed image of Brenner to use in the book. I found a good photograph of him but found it to be grainy and dark, so I drew the image onto an 11x14 sheet of paper. When I was done with the drawing, I posted an image of it here for all to see and critique.

One user here suggested that I make prints of the drawing and sell them. That sparked an idea that led to my running a poll here to see who were the most popular designers of American coins, so I could use the results of the poll to select and place in order the artists I would depict. This is why Augustus Saint-Gaudens was the second subject, and why James Barton Longacre was the third. The fourth subject - John Flanagan - was picked as a favor to Dave Bowers, who wanted my art in his Red Book series on the Washington quarter. Then the fifth, sixth, and seventh (James Earle Fraser, Adolph Weinman, and Hermon Atkins MacNeil) went back to the list I had gained from the poll.

My eighth drawing was rather unique in that I was not simply reproducing the likeness of someone, but creating it from a number of blurry or not face-on images. It was George T. Morgan, and is the first face-on portrait in sharp detail I know of.

The ninth and most recent drawing was a follow-through of the Morgan drawing - Anthony de Francisci, designer of the Peace dollar.

My tenth drawing will be another subject for which I will have to 'artistically create' much of the detail - Charles E. Barber.

All but the tenth drawing are visible at my art gallery website - cdaughtrey.com.