Home Precious Metals
Options

Does anyone use an app for precious metal tracking?

StorkStork Posts: 5,205 ✭✭✭✭✭
I've been using "Gold Tracker" (Hearne Apps, LLC) for a couple years as it had a nice portfolio tracker. So nice in fact, I stopped updating my regular notes as well as I should. I woke up yesterday and after a new update apparently the rather slimy developer has made the portfolio tracking aspect into a pay service. All my data is locked up and I would have to pay what I consider extortion to get access to it again on my tablet. Fortunately my phone didn't do an auto update so I could at least get my last set of numbers, but I will not support a slimy, underhanded scheme where one's data is being held hostage.

Gold Tracker I notice the 38 review count is now down to 34 and my review has not posted. Kind of makes one lose faith (hah!) in the review integrity at Apple.

In any case, can someone recommend a nice basic tracker with a portfolio feature?

I'm not looking for a free app, in fact Gold Tracker wasn't free, but at least one that doesn't play the data hostage game. Of course free is nice and I am pretty good at ignoring ads...however paying 11.99 a year to look at my data (or 49.99 for 'lifetime access' and/or until the developer decides to jack the rates or stop updating the app) is ludicrous.

Comments

• Options
    bronco2078bronco2078 Posts: 9,964 ✭✭✭✭✭

whats to stop an apps-hole developer from knowing entirely too much about your holdings? I can't imagine trusting most of my own family members with that information let alone some nameless person

• Options
    derrybderryb Posts: 36,217 ✭✭✭✭✭

Give Me Liberty or Give Me Debt

• Options

<< <i>whats to stop an apps-hole developer from knowing entirely too much about your holdings? I can't imagine trusting most of my own family members with that information let alone some nameless person >>