Home Metal Detecting

So what do you prefer, Garrett or Whites?

bsshog40bsshog40 Posts: 3,767 ✭✭✭✭✭
I have been using a Garrett 1500 for a few yrs now and really enjoy it. I just got a Whites mxt, has an eclipse 950 coil and an eclipes DD coil. I haven't used it yet. Has anyone here used one and/or either? Which did/do you prefer?
Thanks for any input.

Comments

• rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I have always preferred White's, both for technology and especially customer service. Not to say Garrett's are not good product though.... Cheers, RickO
  • pcgs69pcgs69 Posts: 4,258 ✭✭✭✭
    I'll take choice C - Minelab. Been using a minelab detector since 2009 and they work well.

Heard good things about both White's and Garrett, so I think it's like asking if you like Coke or Pepsi. Both are proven with lots of backers.

edited to fix typo
    A lot of truth there pcgs69... I have seven White's machines, so my preference is obvious...image Cheers, RickO
  • pocketpiececommemspocketpiececommems Posts: 5,723 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I will take choice "F" for Fisher. I've used 2 of them for 20 years.
  • bsshog40bsshog40 Posts: 3,767 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Thanks Guys. Guess I'll try the whites out and see which one I like using better. I'd like to get the wife to go with me so 2 of them would be useful. She's very outdoorsy and would love it.
    Good luck and great to hear the wife will be joining you....it is a great hobby and always fun to have a partner. Cheers, RickO
  • PRECIOUSMENTALPRECIOUSMENTAL Posts: 961 ✭✭✭✭
    I am accustomed to the Garrett line, started on an Ace 350, upgraded to the ATI 2500 a season later. (still have and enjoy the 350 for turning grandkids, nephews and nieces loose.)
    Cool that your Wife is interested, makes it a LOT more fun.
    My Wife is the digger-pin pointer, I am usually swinging it.
    Our home is on property that was a large farm, was divvied up into 4 parcels in 1870, have found some nice old coins, been meaning to post.