Home World & Ancient Coins Forum
Options

Let's talk about plastic......(sort of)

I purchased this for inventory the other day but I'm so intrigued with it that I don't know if I want to sell it (oh oh).

You don't see these in high-grade all that often. NGC AU-55, but it looks better than that to me, but of course I'm not an expert on grading plastic.

Keeling-Cocos Islands 1913 Token Issue, 25 Cents KM#Tn3 NGC AU-55

Often listed as being made out of ivory, these were actually produced in ivorine, a plastic that imitates ivory but is perhaps more closely related to Bakelite. Part of a series that actually did circulate on the Keeling-Cocos Islands (located midway between Australia and Sri Lanka) for quite some time.

Mintage of 5,000 pieces, all individually numbered on the back.

Dennis

Comments

• Options
    OldEastsideOldEastside Posts: 4,602 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Interesting & Thanx fer sharing

Steve
    Promote the Hobby
  • Options
    EVillageProwlerEVillageProwler Posts: 5,859 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Dennis,

I have no idea regarding its price, but if you can afford to hold onto it then I think you should consider doing that. Novelty items like this will have their moment in the sun, however brief that may be. At that point, you may consider selling it at your asking level. Until then, just enjoy owning it and that is that.

BTW, is ivorine the same material that we see made into ivory-looking chopsticks?

EVP

How does one get a hater to stop hating?

I can be reached at evillageprowler@gmail.com

• Options
    SapyxSapyx Posts: 2,009 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Since the Keeling-Cocos Islands now belong to Australia, these pieces are very popular with Australian collectors. And a very Topical coin to post, this being Australia Day (26th January).

<< <i>You don't see these in high-grade all that often. NGC AU-55, but it looks better than that to me, but of course I'm not an expert on grading plastic. >>