Home U.S. Coin Forum

What am I missing?

Vam?

I am no expert on Peace dollars. I see some doubling around the face but instead of doing some research I am going to be lazy and somebody tell me why this 1921 Peace sold for over 3 grand.

I have plans....sometimes

Comments

• RampageRampage Posts: 9,418 ✭✭✭✭
    I think someone is hoping for a super gem grade. The coin does have a superb strike for the date, though.
  • lcoopielcoopie Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I'm suspicious of some funny business
    LCoopie = Les
  • ms70ms70 Posts: 13,946 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Can't really tell but it looks buffed.

Great transactions with oih82w8, JasonGaming, Moose1913.

• AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,535 ✭✭✭✭✭

<< <i>I think someone is hoping for a super gem grade. The coin does have a superb strike for the date, though. >>

Strike doubling from what I see.....Perhaps they are hoping for a Satin Proof with
    those reverse die polish lines?

This image
    Registry: CC lowballs (boblindstrom), bobinvegas1989@yahoo.com
  • BryceMBryceM Posts: 11,729 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Interesting coin. The strike is EXCEPTIONALLY good for a 1921 and the reverse lettering is remarkably bold. None of the regular 1921 MS66 or better coins on CoinFacts has a strike anywhere near as good as this. I don't see any doubling, but there might be some die polish lines above "WE" and at the "S O" of "STATES OF" on the reverse that would make it a VAM 1H, struck from satin proof dies. It's impossible to see this perfectly from the photos. It has the look of a polished coin and it certainly has some hairlines. The photography, however, isn't necessarily easy to interpret.

The Price Guide says there are 6-8 known matte-finish 1921 proof coins and maybe 10 satin proofs. The single example shown on CoinFacts doesn't look terribly different than this one. It's a long-shot, but not an impossibility that this could be a proof coin......