Home Metal Detecting

is there any good working metal detectors under $60?

is there any good working metal detectors under $60?

i live in Pennsylvania and own lots of land, the county i live in has lots of indian coins and artifacts pop up every now and then.

ill need to be searching for silver and gold only, looking primarily for coins and jewelry, maybe weapons if made of silver or gold. also the detector will have to reach a good length in the ground, maybe 3 feet is good enough.

im just looking to get into the hobby, i have a medical condition and im disabled, so the way i see it... i have a whole lifetime of time on my hands to search the world! (starting with the property i own of course) =P
-------------------------------------

im new to collecting still, but now im sitting on certain pieces that i only dreamed of before. quality over quanity for sure!

Comments

• WhiteTornadoWhiteTornado Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭
    Hello and welcome image

There is a low-level Bounty Hunter detector that a quick Google shopping search showed as being sold around $60. However, I'm not sure about the quality of that brand. If you can spend more, you may want to go with a better brand like Tesoro, Garrett, Whites, Fisher, etc. Even their entry-level detectors are good units.

Your best bet if possible would be to visit a local detector shop. They can walk you through entry-level detectors and might even have used ones for sale. Are there any dealers in your area? Not sure what part of PA you are in.

Gettysburg Electronics is one.
  • rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭