Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Coin deal savvy

AMRCAMRC Posts: 4,266 ✭✭✭✭✭
While I am not known to have the most inexpensive coins on the market, I really am not a dealer set-up to be in that market. I try to stock mostly PCGS and CAC certified coins. While people are free to make offers on anything I have, I always chuckle when someones first contact with me (someone I have never done business with before) is "What's your best price?" and that is almost always followed up with "for cash, or a quick sale." And then sometimes they add an education on how I clearly do not know how to read a price guide. My polite response is always, "with all due respect you are asking me to bid against myself, and that is not something I do. If there is a price you are hoping to get the coin for please let me know and we can go from there." The part that makes me chuckle, is that telling me you are willing to pay me in money, and quickly, is the expectation and not some kind of bargaining chip that I am going to get giddy over. These folks think they are being shrewd business people but more times than not all it does is let me know I am dealing with an amateur, and so I am even less inclined to do anything beyond restating my original price.

If someone has a coin you would like purchase and you think the price is too high, then step-up and tell them what you would like to pay for the coin. If they can make it work they will. No need to embellish it with things like "cash" or "quick sale." All I can say is no, but you should never try to educate a dealer in your first contact with them, or ask them their "best price," without at least offering them what you would like to pay. You risk not being taken seriously. That's fine if you are not really interested in THAT coin, but really not a great way to start a transaction.

Fire away......

MLAeBayNumismatics: "The greatest hobby in the world!"

Comments

• Options
    MICHAELDIXONMICHAELDIXON Posts: 6,407 ✭✭✭✭✭