Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Help needed

Not sure what this is but on several of my Commerative Dollar I am developing a light colored ring on the outer side of the coins. My coins have never been out of the original government capsules they are in..Also stored in a safe or deposit box at the bank. They do not look like milk spots I have seen on other coins, but couls this be early tarnishing ??? All are in the 1980 and 1990 years. I am new to this but loving it so far....Thanks Out Door Dan
Out Door Dan

Comments

• Options
    MsMorrisineMsMorrisine Posts: 32,201 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Pictures?

What color(s)?

Current maintainer of Stone's Master List of Favorite Websites // My BST transactions
  • Options
    I am at work now,,then I have to try and figure out how to add a pic,,Thanks
    Out Door Dan
  • Options
    bolivarshagnastybolivarshagnasty Posts: 7,348 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I hope I'm way off base, but it sounds like the early stages of tarnishing. This can be from a number of sources, including the packaging material, temperature, and humidity of the environment. The coin below
    was in an old PCI holder and some say it was the ink on the label that made this toning occur. Most Silver Eagles in PCI holders eventually end up with some level of toning on them. The silver eagles are 99% pure
    silver, and thus more susceptible to their environment. I'm guessing that your commems are also 99% silver.
  • Options
    We can walk you through adding pictures.

Current maintainer of Stone's Master List of Favorite Websites // My BST transactions
  • Options
    Thank you very much men,,,I will try and get some pics tomorow if I can..The Comm are 90% silver that I know of.
    Out Door Dan
  • Options
    I know you probably aren't home yet...

but this is my first time trying out tinypic.com
    (as recommended by one of our coin photographers as being good)

So I'm going to test the tinypic.com site.

Here is a counterfeit coin in a counterfeit holder

• Options