Home Precious Metals
Options

Question about Swiss 20 Franc gold coin

I had posted this question in the World Coins forum but got no replies yet, so I figured I'd try it here...

I picked up a few Swiss 20 Franc gold coins today and I notice that one of them is a 1935-B (not L-B). From what I read, only 175k of these were minted. Does anyone know anything about this, what it might be worth, how often they come around, etc?

I searched the forums but couldn't find anything...but I am a newbie here so I might have missed something.

Thanks in advance!!

Successful BST: VPR, nederveit, RR, Littletweed

Comments

• Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,421 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I remember reading somewhere that many of these Swiss gold coins were minted using Nazi gold and were backdated to hide the source of this gold.

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

• Options
    I hadn't heard that, but they did re-strike 1935 dates in 1945-47. But the restrikes are the L-B mark. This one is only B, meaning it was actually struck in 35.

Interesting idea about the Nazi thing though... it would make sense to date coins differently to hide the source of gold, but then why would they denote the restrike with the L mark...
  • Options
    CaptHenwayCaptHenway Posts: 31,550 ✭✭✭✭✭

<< <i>I remember reading somewhere that many of these Swiss gold coins were minted using Nazi gold and were backdated to hide the source of this gold. >>

This is correct, but I have never heard of any specific date and mint mark combinations being linked to it.
    Numismatist. 50 year member ANA. Winner of four ANA Heath Literary Awards; three Wayte and Olga Raymond Literary Awards; Numismatist of the Year Award 2009, and Lifetime Achievement Award 2020. Winner numerous NLG Literary Awards.
  • Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Is there a source of history on the Nazi gold coins?? Would be interesting to read.... Cheers, RickO
  • Options