Home Buy, Sell & Trade - World & Ancient Coins
Options

savoyspecial

I was going to reply to your "for sale" thread but you deleted everything and changed the thread name to "..."

When you listed a few coins I was interested in the first coin. 1849 Great Britain 1D Mdy Maundy

I'm relatively new to collecting so I clicked on the link you sent me and it directed me to the PCGS pictures of the coin. I didn't bother asking for pictures of the slabbed coin as I normally do since I trust that members of this forum aren't out to make a high profits. After I received your coin I looked up how much this coin is worth and I found that this coin was purchased less than 2 months ago for $60 and I bought it for $100. If you want to make money list it on Ebay for $100. I understand people have to make a profit but to flip a coin to a member for this board for a 40% increase was a bit sneaky. I guess I learned my lesson.

Like I said, lesson learned.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/1849-Great-Britain-1D-Mdy-Maundy-PCGS-PL-64-Nice-Toning-/181264223484?pt=US_World_Coins&hash=item2a34308cfc&nma=true&si=R4ksx2Y%252FueIsl7LJod%252F5IxLW2IQ%253D&orig_cvip=true&rt=nc&_trksid=p2047675.l2557

Comments

• Options
    I'd have sent this as a private message and not made it public. Greg is certainly entitled to ask what he wants for anything he sells. It's up to the buyer to decide what they are willing to pay.
  • Options
    Of course anyone can sell their coin for any price they want but to make a killing on a coin and sell it to a member of the forum is a bit unfair. I wouldn't have taken advantage of a fellow collector on a coin but that's just me.

I posted it here since everything was deleted on the for sale thread and it wouldn't make sense to respond to a thread without the full story. I advise other new collectors to do their own homework and due diligence. Assume that any seller on the BST is no different than anyone on Ebay. Buyer beware.

Like I said, lesson learned.

• Options