Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

questions about drapped bust gold

I'm sure this has been asked before.

As far as gold coins go drapped bust right gold is my alltime favorite and would like someday to own one
low grade would be fine (unless i hit the lottery.....yeah right).

How difficult would it be to put a small type set of these together(F/VF)?
And are there many avalible?

And and all thoughts and comments appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Rick

Comments

• Options
    VanHalenVanHalen Posts: 3,807 ✭✭✭✭✭

<< <i>I'm sure this has been asked before.

As far as gold coins go drapped bust right gold is my alltime favorite and would like someday to own one
    low grade would be fine (unless i hit the lottery.....yeah right).

How difficult would it be to put a small type set of these together(F/VF)?
    And are there many avalible?

And and all thoughts and comments appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Rick >>

I'm no expert but share your views on Draped Bust gold pieces. Great coins with great big prices!

A small type set of the three denominations with large and small eagles would be very difficult and very expensive regardless of grade. You'd likely need to skip the 1796 No Stars quarter-eagle unless you're patient and have deep pockets.

Good luck though! We all need a numismatic dream! image
  • Options
    DaveGDaveG Posts: 3,535
    I haven't checked the populations of graded coins or the Heritage archives recently, but I'd say that you'll have real trouble finding lower-grade coins.

"Old Tenor" (pre-1834) US gold coins didn't circulate much, instead they were exported and melted.

Because the dollar was defined as a specific weight of gold (or silver), people were very fussy about receiving full-weight coins, so gold coins that showed circulation wear were generally sent back to the Mint for re-coining.

As a result, any circulated coins that were around were generally melted, while the coins that people tended to keep were the nicer coins.