Home Precious Metals
Options

A Primer to Ingots

Hello everyone.

I'm a bit new to bullion trading/investing/collecting, but it's something I've definitely wanted to try out. Though I'm still a college student, I've amassed quite a bit of silver in junk US coins, American Silver Eagles, and silver bars, as part of a savings account. Something that I've had my eyes on for a while is the silver ingot- they hold a chunk of collector value, look pretty sweet, and are a cross-section of history, available to hold in your own hand.

When looking through eBay, I noticed the cool ones (and it seems to me, the most expensive) are the San Francisco US Mint silver ingots. Because I'm extremely unfamiliar with their premiums, can anyone here provide some valuable information/recommend any sources on how to begin collecting them? Where are good places to buy them? What would be considered a "bargain" to buy them at? Have you ever cherry picked them at a store?

Perhaps they're a poor purchase altogether compared to other bullion? I have no idea.

Thanks in advance,

Bassil
Successful BST transactions with: blu62vette, Shortgapbob, Dolan, valente151, cucamongacoin, ajaan

Interests:
Pre-Jump Grade Project
Toned Commemoratives

Comments

• Options
    LukeMarshallLukeMarshall Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Cherry Picked these a while back....

These bars do not even represent Bullion, IMO. They are more like a piece of history, and a piece to the historic puzzle of the opperations of the mints.

There are also other mint/assay bars in a variety of sizes, shapes and Prices!!!

The smaller San Fran bars like the one pictured are the most valuable type, excluding an example of a 25oz ish.. block that had been poured on a dozen or more times...

Hope this helps

-luke

It's all about what the people want...

• Options
    WeissWeiss Posts: 9,935 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I guess I'm having trouble understanding what you mean by "the silver ingot".