Home Precious Metals

How do you decide what is a coin and what is bullion?

mrpaseomrpaseo Posts: 4,753 ✭✭✭
Since I am just beginning my stack, I am looking through my records and see that I have some coins that have been "coins" up to this point that I may start looking at as "Bullion". As I look around on YouTube, I am seeing many stacker videos that have coins in their stack that have a higher numismatic value than the bullion within yet these proof coins for example are in the bullion stacking pile.

My question is, how do you determine which stack to put each coin in?

Thanks,
Ray

Comments

• derrybderryb Posts: 36,112 ✭✭✭✭✭
    You need a third stack for "bullion coins." Bullion coins, not to be confused with bullion "rounds," are produced by a nation's coinage mint facility in both proof and business strike versions to strict standards and they are marked with a monetary value. This provides a very reliable source for its citizen to procure precious metal safely and from a reliable source. In the US legislation was passed in the early 80's requiring the US mint to produce American Eagles in gold, silver and platinum flavors for public consumption.

Since their inception, a strong Eagle collector base has developed, resulting in periodic production of special collector versions. While they are highly collected, all American Eagles remain bullion coins as far as the US Mint and the IRS are concerned. You will find serious coin collectors who will argue that they are not "coins" at all.

The decline from democracy to tyranny is both a natural and inevitable one.

• WeissWeiss Posts: 9,935 ✭✭✭✭✭
    This is where a box of 20 comes in handy.

When it comes down to it, if you buy it primarily for its bullion content, it's bullion. If you buy it for its numismatic value or interest, it's not bullion.

That's not to say some pieces don't cross over. For me most of them do.

But my box of 20 stuff is definitely not bullion, though it's made of silver or gold.