Home Precious Metals
Options

Engelhard 1oz Rounds Priced Higher...

Than Silver Maple Leafs and Eagles. I don't get it.

Comments

• Options
    mrpaseomrpaseo Posts: 4,753 ✭✭✭
    I am totally new to the game but I know supply and demand feeds the cost of just about any item. Are these limited in any way? I notice they are not serial numbered, they just carry the Engelhard name... I'm puzzled too.

Ray
  • Options

<< <i>Than Silver Maple Leafs and Eagles. I don't get it. >>

I knew the 1 oz bars were no longer minted but I just found this on a site, "Engelhard rounds have a rich history, are no longer being minted, and are increasingly difficult to locate in quantity."

Supply and demand it is.
    Ray
  • Options
    OPAOPA Posts: 17,104 ✭✭✭✭✭

<< <i>I am totally new to the game but I know supply and demand feeds the cost of just about any item. Are these limited in any way? I notice they are not serial numbered, they just carry the Engelhard name... I'm puzzled too.

Ray >>

Engelhard .... BASF is the new owner..... Buyer beware....that particular design is mass counterfeited by the Chinese .. silver plated junk.

Link
    "Bongo drive 1984 Lincoln that looks like old coin dug from ground."
  • Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,415 ✭✭✭✭✭

Didn't they stop making them in the 1980's?

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

• Options

<< <i>

Link here to the quote below

<< <i>Didn't they stop making them in the 1980's? >>

Engelhard 1 oz. Prospector Silver Coins
    In the early 1970s, investors turned to silver bullion as protection against rising inflation. (Americans did not regain the right to legally own gold bullion until December 31, 1974.) In addition to the problem of inflation, the US government had suppressed the price of silver in the 1960s, making silver an attractive investment.