Home Metal Detecting
Options

Whites v Garrett ???

I'm new to the idea of metal detecting, as well as newly retired and got time on my hands. So I'm looking at getting a midrange detector, and was wondering what you pros here on the board would suggest. Looking at about $500-600 to spend on 1. I live close to Whites HQ so that gives them a plus, but wanted to see ya'll think that Garrett is a better machine.

Comments

• Options
    I've used Garrett since 1989....I love it. I also know those that have White's and love them. The bottom line is, get one and USE IT! All the new machines are good, the experirnce is the thing that set you apart from the rest. A detector sitting in a closet is useless.....
  • Options
    WaltWalt Posts: 1,275 ✭✭✭
    and a good pin pointer makes it much more fun!
  • Options
    pcgs69pcgs69 Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭✭
    There's really no right or wrong answer. There are a lot of brands out there - don't forget about Fisher or Minelab too. What I did was find some models that interested me and looked up videos on YouTube. This allows you to actually see them in action. And as Walt said get a pinpointer. Once again I checked them out on YouTube. I went with the pistol probe. Enjoy the search!
  • Options
    I use Garrett. Whites and Garrett both make quality detectors. The main thing to me is to find one that caters to the type of detecting you want to do. A detector made for being a real good coin shooter is what you want if coin hunting is your thing. I prefer an all around machine like my garrett masterhunter cx plus. I can do well with relics and coins. I would look at the garrett at pro. The only negative I have seen on this machine is that it does not run a battery pack or support rechargeable batteries. I think that that or something in a white that compares to it in your price range would suit you well. No right or wrong answer in that price range you should be able to find a good detector.
  • Options