Home Buy, Sell & Trade - Cards & Memorabilia
Options

1984 Donruss Don Mattingly BGS 10 Pristine - POP 1 - SOLD

The only one out of thousands graded. Decided to let it go because I purchased another really (really) expensive card.

For the ultimate Mattingly collector.

SOLD

Always buying 1971 OPC Baseball packs.

Comments

• Options
    markj111markj111 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭
    Is there any chance the card will go for that price? I am no expert on the Mattingly market, but that seems like a lot for a mass produced card of a player not even in the HOF. A PSA 10 sells for less than $500. What makes a BGS 10 special?
  • Options
    I agree....seems to be a lot for a card of a player not in the HOF...the PSA 10 of this card does not even go for the much...I would lower the price to sell it on here...for that much...I could buy a 52 Topps Mantle card for almost that.
    Looking For:
    PSA 9 Albert Pujols Rookie Cards
    Successful trans. with epatmythes, PFB, johnckhall, kwtoz, mattinglymint23, Foo3112, ssdawg77,
    californiacards3, orioles93, Bkritz
  • Options
    esquiresportsesquiresports Posts: 1,360 ✭✭✭
    BGS 10 Pristine cards often bring a substantial premium over PSA 10s, even when there are 5-10 Pristine copies in circulation. They will sell for a multiple over PSA 10 prices. I paid about a 7x premium for a BGS 10 Tony Gwynn rookie at no minimum bid auction (and two others bid around 7x) relative to the PSA 10 market price, and the population on the Gwynn BGS 10 card is 4.

The HOF/not HOF doesn't really matter. Just the market price for the card, which is one of the highest of all post-1980 base set cards. While there have been almost 100 PSA Gem Mint 10 Mattingly cards graded and almost 75 Becket Gem Mint 9.5 Mattingly cards graded, this is the first and only to receive a BGS 10 Pristine grading.