Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

Crossing GAI 10 to PSA 10?

Any chance? Has anyone ever successfully tried it? I'm far from an expert on grading or grading serives, but I know they don't have the best reputation. I appreciate any and all opinions.

Thanks
Craig

*Not mine. Just got curious when I came across the card.

Comments

• GriffinsGriffins Posts: 6,076 ✭✭✭
    you'd have to crack it first.
    If I was buying that card I'd value it at about PSA 7. There was a time when they were good (Mike Baker was in charge at PSA before leaving and forming GAI ) but there were issues.
    At this point it's effectively 5 years minimum after GAI's demise, you have to ask yourself why is any given card in their holder? There are legit answers, but more often than not the answer is because it won't go into a PSA or SGC holder even at 2 grades lower.

Always looking for Topps Salesman Samples, pre '51 unopened packs, E90-2, E91a, N690 Kalamazoo Bats, and T204 Square Frame Ramly's

• HallcoHallco Posts: 3,617 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Have Doublestriker Call Demian and ask!
  • mikeschmidtmikeschmidt Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭
    Three scenarios here:
      The card is graded accurately. It = PSA 10. Odds <5%
        The card is overgraded. Would likely cross to PSA 8 or PSA 9 if cracked and resubmitted. Depends heavily on when submitted, etc. Odds ~40%
          The card is whacked -- whether sheet cut, trimmed, damaged or something else, and the last owner believed it was more valuable in GAI 10 than in any comparable PSA grade that he could reasonably expect upon submission. Odds ~55%

M
          I am actively buying MIKE SCHMIDT gem mint baseball cards. Also looking for any 19th century cabinets of Philadephia Nationals. Please PM with additional details.
        • Loyalty32Loyalty32 Posts: 497 ✭✭✭
          I really appreciate the info everyone!

Thanks
          Craig