Home Metal Detecting

First timer, suggestions?

LochNESSLochNESS Posts: 4,829 ✭✭✭
I'm taking a New England road trip which will include over a week on Marthas Vineyard. I'm considering bringing my father's metal detector. I've never used it up north before. Any laws or regulations I should be aware of? Any suggestions? Any other beaches worth visiting or other numismatic places of interest?

My route:

- Baltimore, MD

- NYC, NY (american numismatic society HQ? anyone ever been???)

- Bridgeport, CT / Southern CT

- Providence, RI

- Martha's Vineyard, MA

- Springfield, MA

- Albany, NY

- Poconos (eastern PA)

then back home to Atlanta, GA (so anything along the interstates). I might try the Philly mint. Sadly I will return home BEFORE the ANA event image

Thanks gentlemen and ladies, your advice and travel experience is much appreciated. Tell me some stories!
ANA LM • WBCC 429

Amat Colligendo Focum

Top 10FOR SALE

Comments

• ga5150ga5150 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭
    Don't hunt Baltimore City parks without a permit. You may want to check regulations of each city/area ahead of time and find out whats allowed and what's not.

Good luck!
  • LochNESSLochNESS Posts: 4,829 ✭✭✭
    Right on, thanks!

Oh and GOOOoooooooOOOOOOOO DAWGs! Sic'em! Woof woof woof woof image
    ANA LM • WBCC 429

Amat Colligendo Focum

Top 10FOR SALE

• rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Yep...check with the local PD in each area... they are usually very helpful...Good luck...Cheers, RickO
  • LochNESSLochNESS Posts: 4,829 ✭✭✭