Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

New to the forum, and some observations about it

Good morning all. After much lurking I finally took the plunge and created an account. I want to post a little bit about me and my collection and then some general observations about this board that I have made.

I am a 31 year old male, Accountant, (prior to that an Infantryman), and a Libertarian. I have been collecting off and on since about 2005; my interest in coins originated from a coffee can of various silver coins that my parents kept in the closet. When I was very young I would periodically go get this jar out and dump it out on the table and "play" with the coins. The large (gigantic for a kid) silver dollars always fascinated me. I guess you could say I loved money even as a kid! During my teenage years I sold the coins to a coin dealer for about $80 and ran off to the beach with the money. Regretting this ever since, I began collecting again 7 years ago with the intent of rebuilding the collection I had foolishly squandered. Currently my collection consists of two segments, defined by my knowledge of collecting and the budgets available at the times I was most active. The early segment consists of many raw Morgan dollars and common date unc. Morgans (all raw) and a bunch of silver eagles, I made many mistakes in this early phase but luckily the rise in silver prices has paid my tuition! I remember "arguing over an 8th" with the coin dealer and not wanting to pay premiums over spot, which at the time was about 10-12 bucks, lol. How I wish I had gone in with a wheelbarrow! Anyway, the second phase of my collection consists of only slabbed coins purchased from Heritage and my focus is key date silver dollars. Recently I have been buying 1928 Peace dollars although I am starting to realize that they are not as scarce as I first thought. My current collecting goal is to simply collect key date coins from each silver dollar series and have a collection solely based on these. I als