Home Metal Detecting
Options

Need YOUR expert opinions

Greetings,

Good Morning. I have been a coin collector for a few decades and I am mistified with all the stories, pics and videos of all the wonderful finds all the forum members share during their metal detecting adventures. My father used to metal detect and WOW did we used to have fun finding little treasures in W. Germany when he was in the Air Force. I always wanted to buy my own and start collecting treasures of my own. Well...life happen...a wife...kids...etc. Now that I am retiring I often find myself on YouTube and other sites that show all the awesome finds that we as viewers are lucky enough to watch. I have decided to enter into the world of metal dectecting and need YOUR expert advice. I am a novice in metal detecting equipment and need some advice. I have watched YouTube vids and have seen and heard alot about the Garret XT PRO. But needless to say I have NO idea. I dont want a cheap one and I dont want to break the bank...but can I find a better than average brand that will detect different denominations of coins and metals. I would love for it to be able to decipher between what is a bottle top and what is "SILVER". I have also noticed an attachment that once a find is discovered and the site is dug..then they use a small 8-10 inch prod to pinpoint the silver or metal. I don't even know what this is called. I know I am a novice. I hope anyone can help me. Your comments are greatly appreciated and as always enjoy what remains of your day.

mjhoffpauir
"There are two types of people in the world. Those that do the work and those that take the credit. Try to be in the first group, there is less competition there" - Ghandi

Comments

• Options
    AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,539 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Where do you plan on purchasing a detector? I would suggest finding a local dealer or
    two and get down there and explain what you want to do and let them lead you. When