Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Counterfeit $2.50 indian

I bought this from a trusted dealer he will refund me.
But what did he and I both miss on this common indian??
PCGS says questionable authenticity someone educate
me please.

Give the laziest man the toughest job and he will find the easiest way to get it done.

Comments

• Options
    CaptHenwayCaptHenway Posts: 31,598 ✭✭✭✭✭
    A very common counterfeit. One diagnostic is the irregular lines just inside the rim on the obverse from about 3 o'clock to about 5:30 o'clock. There are some similar marks on the reverse above the mint mark.
    TD
    Numismatist. 50 year member ANA. Winner of four ANA Heath Literary Awards; three Wayte and Olga Raymond Literary Awards; Numismatist of the Year Award 2009, and Lifetime Achievement Award 2020. Winner numerous NLG Literary Awards.
  • Options
    TevaTeva Posts: 830
    I am new to collecting gold indians so I have been buying graded or
    buying from my local B&M's to protect myself.
    The dealer I got it from is very honest and intelligent
    but a little green yet. You just can't trust anybody under 50 ??
    I guess we both are getting a lesson today!!
    A big thanks to you captain.
    Give the laziest man the toughest job and he will find the easiest way to get it done.
  • Options
    KoveKove Posts: 2,029 ✭✭✭✭
    I took the weeklong Counterfeit Detection course at the ANA summer seminar last year. Everything went great, except for reliably detecting counterfeit $2.5 and $5 Indians. I think these are the toughest coins around to determine authenticity.
  • Options
    BochimanBochiman Posts: 25,313 ✭✭✭✭✭
    So, kind of a gold-newbie question then....

It is gold, but not a true 1925, right?
    This isn't some other metal and not a true coin, but it is at least gold (I understand the numismatic hit), right?
    I'm used to the current Chinese counterfeits of silver dollars (which aren't silver at all) which is why I ask....