Home U.S. Coin Forum

1878 Morgan reverse question

derrybderryb Posts: 36,680 ✭✭✭✭✭
I'm new with Morgans. Can anyone explain/show me the difference between a 7TF and a 7/8 TF. I'm also confused on telling the difference between the 7TF rev. of 78 and the 7TF rev. of 79. I scouted vamworld but can't find specific pics I'm looking for. If anyone versed in vamworld.com could provide links to pics i'm looking for, or an easy description of how to tell the difference, it would greatly appreciated. I will be making an offer on an uncirc. roll of 78 TTFs and want to be sure I know what I'm looking at and and that I make an offer that is fair to both parties.

The only way to make an economic system truly stable is to permit the free market to take over.

Comments

• cheezhedcheezhed Posts: 5,770 ✭✭✭✭✭
    7/8 tf is a re-engraved 8 tf die with the bottoms of the old tf showing.

rev 78 has flat chest and parallel feathers in arrows.

rev 79 has rounded chest and top feather in arrows slanted.
    Many happy BST transactions
  • BlindedByEgoBlindedByEgo Posts: 10,754 ✭✭✭✭✭
    You may want to spend some time at vamworld.com in order to familiarize yourself with some of the major varieties.
  • DorkGirlDorkGirl Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭
    This will help.

Morgan Reverses
    Becky
  • messydeskmessydesk Posts: 19,882 ✭✭✭✭✭
    7/8 TF isn't really 7/8 TF, but it's just called that out of tradition. The "underdesign" is most likely a different 7TF design for which no patterns are known to exist. The extra tailfeathers and olive branch parts don't line up with an 8TF reverse and don't match known patterns.

The easiest way to distinguish an 1878 reverse lf '78 from reverse of '79 in any grade is the fletching. On the reverse of '78, all feathers on the arrows are parallel to each other. On the reverse of '79, the top one is noticeably slanted.