Home U.S. Coin Forum

2007 Dime- Major Die Crack?

Greetings all, I'm fairly new to the hobby and heard this is a great forum for accessing some expert advice and opinions! When I have some leisure time I like to go though pocket change and I recently found this 2007 P Dime in a roll from the bank. It certainly looks to me like a serious die crack and a legit mint error, but I can't find anything about this searching online. The reverse appears to be slightly off-center (skewed towards the 'south'). Any input would be appreciated! Thanks!

Comments

• ctf_error_coinsctf_error_coins Posts: 15,433 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Hi that is from a split die, the die cracked in half. This is VERY collectable and way more than a die crack. A very cool find. PM me if you are interested in selling it as it is my son's birth year.

Also WELCOME to the Forum.
  • fcloudfcloud Posts: 12,133 ✭✭✭✭
    Cool Crack. image

Here is your obverse image.

President, Racine Numismatic Society 2013-2014; Variety Resource Dimes; See 6/8/12 CDN for my article on Winged Liberty Dimes; Ebay

• ClosedLoopClosedLoop Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭
    Nice crack!!!image
    figglehorn
  • johnny9434johnny9434 Posts: 28,138 ✭✭✭✭✭
    wow, nice crack and very nice pick up wtg image
  • MedalCollectorMedalCollector Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I have seen maybe 4 or five of these coins with this same cracked die. In 2007 there were maybe 5 or 6 different dies with split dies like this, many of them being found in circulation. They are very dramatic especially for a modern coin like that. Nice.
  • MsMorrisineMsMorrisine Posts: 32,794 ✭✭✭✭✭
    What errorsoncoins said.

a split die is way cool.

Current maintainer of Stone's Master List of Favorite Websites // My BST transactions
  • rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Very nice find.... a keeper for sure. Cheers, RickO
  • Thanks for your response! How did you post the pic so that the image is shown in the post instead of as links to an image as my initial post was?