Home U.S. Coin Forum

Book review: A guide book of Franklin and Kennedy Halfs by Rick Tomaska

Anyone have a review on this book? Would this book be good for me; I am new to collecting and recently acquired a Proof Kennedy collection. Now I am trying to get all the kennedy half's in each mint, clad, proof, and silver proof in MS condition. Would this book help me out? Possible save me from getting ripped off if I do some purchasing on ebay?

The only books I have are: Warmans companion: US coins and currency 2nd edition, the new official red book of us coins 2011, and the experts guide to collecting and investing in rare coins by David Bowers. I am seeking out any other books to help me with grading and further educate me in US coin collecting; suggestions are appreciated. I was told Grading Coins by Photographs by David Bowers is also a good one to add to my library...

Appreciate any info, you guys are great!

Jason

Comments

• raycycaraycyca Posts: 1,636 ✭✭✭
    Buy the book on Amazon.com. Only $14. Worth some info. Next one in a few years will be better. If you want help. PM me. Good luck. Ray
    You only live life once, enjoy it like it's your last day. It just MIGHT be!

• Collect Kennedys? image

Save your money, buy bald headed Franklins.

Just kidding. image Are you collecting slabbed, raw uncirculated or raw circulated? If you are going after slabbed coins, and not top pops, consider about 25 - 35% off of the price guide as a good starting point.

Have fun. image
  • rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭
    It is worth buying if your collecting Kennedy's.... also the grading book is worthwhile. Cheers, RickO
  • SonorandesertratSonorandesertrat Posts: 5,695 ✭✭✭✭✭
    ELYJ83,