Home U.S. Coin Forum

How do you determine if toning is synthetic or aged?

When I say synthetic, I mean heat toned or chemicals. I am having a difficult time trying to determine what is aged. I am trying to find a decent raw or graded Morgan with nice toning.

For example is this ebay auction of a morgan -> EBAY

Should I stay away since it is not graded? What are your thoughts on that toning? From my understanding if it has greens in it it is most likely aged toning.. I appreciate any information as I am new to toning..

Jason

Comments

• llafoellafoe Posts: 7,220 ✭✭
    That coin would not slab.
    WANTED: Cincinnati Reds TEAM Cards
  • pmacpmac Posts: 3,189 ✭✭✭
    When you find out, please be sure to send the answer to PCGS. Could save them much court time.image
    Paul
  • rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Do a forum search on tarnish (toning for the sophisticated).... there are mostly BS threads since most contributors have no scientific knowledge of the topic - and furthermore, refuse to learn, but some truly factual threads are available (TomB did an excellent treatise on tarnish). One thing further, if done expertly, no one can tell the difference, no matter what they may claim. Cheers, RickO
  • ambro51ambro51 Posts: 13,771 ✭✭✭✭✭
    TomB's analysis of toning is first rate. ALL should read this....all who want to put toned coins into their collection.

My only advice is NEVER buy a toned coin that looks completely unlike any other toned coin youve seen....and this one fills that bill.
  • lcoopielcoopie Posts: 8,870 ✭✭✭✭✭
    the terminology is
    AT or artifically toned
    vs
    NT
    naturally toned

LCoopie = Les
  • dsessomdsessom Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭✭✭