Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

2010 proof eagles are junk

124»

Comments

• Options
    adrianaadriana Posts: 581 ✭✭
    So what else I could have in mind by ordering 100? I'll tell you why! I've been collecting coins for over 50 years, and how did I do this? I sure didn't buy them from my paycheck. I completed a complete set of IHC in XF or better, a complete set of Large cents from 1816 to 1856 in XF or better,and other coins that fancied my taste. I couldn't have accomplished this dream unless I bought several sets from the US Mint. So I made a few dollars, and always saved my proceeds to purchase my dream coin. Attended many many shows, and it was well worth it. This year, the US Mint's quality has been the worst I've ever seen. I returned 48% of my coins of 25 for replacemet. For the price I pay for these proofs, I expect some falicies but not that high of a percentage. Consequently if I resold the ones that are imperfect, I probably wouldn't even get what I paid for them, as I make every attemt to iderntify any imperfections I see into the item description when I sell some on ebay. The customer expects perfection, so do I! Wouldn't you accept the same?
  • Options
    53BKid53BKid Posts: 2,173 ✭✭✭
    The mint's quality control isn't keeping up with all they're spewing out. They charge a nice premium, you think they'd protect their "brand". Unwise.
    HAPPY COLLECTING!!!
  • Options
    pitbosspitboss Posts: 8,643 ✭✭✭

At the rate silver is climbing it won't be long before these will be at spot anyway. Then it will not matter, you can just throw the culls in the pot for melt.
  • Options
    baccarudabaccaruda Posts: 2,588 ✭✭
    There's not a single one of 20 that I would be happy to put in my Dansco. The first 10 were an absolute disgrace.
    1 Tassa-slap
    2 Cam-Slams!
    1 Russ POTD!
  • Options