Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Where Should I Sell My Vintage Cards?

Hi all, I'm new to the message boards and was wondering if the experts out there had any tips on selling high-grade 1933 and 1934 Goudey and 1935 Diamond Stars cards. I just bought a great lot of 16 cards from those three sets and sent them to get graded a couple of days ago. (Side question: Do you think it will take PSA longer to grade my cards do to the National Convention?) Anyway, here's a list of what I have, the grade I think they'll get from PSA, the SMR value at that grade, and the SMR value at the grade right below my guess.

Year Brand Number Player My guess Value Conservative Value
1934 Goudey 27 Luke Appling 5 $150 $85
1934 Diamond Stars 43 Ted Lyons 7 $215 $140
1934 Goudey 11 Paul Waner 6 $215 $150
1934 Diamond Stars 26 Pepper Martin 8 $375 $155
1934 Goudey 10 Charles (Chuck) Klein 8 OC $225 $170
1934 Diamond Stars 2 Al Simmons 7 $365 $200
1934 Diamond Stars 32 Edgar Rice 8 $525 $215
1934 Diamond Stars 27 Pie Traynor 8 $600 $250
1934 Diamond Stars 30 Heinie Manush 8 $600 $250
1934 Diamond Stars 9 Mickey Cochrane 8 $1,500 $400
1934 Diamond Stars 35 Earle Averill 9 $1,800 $525
1933 Goudey 234 Carl Hubbell 8 OC $850 $525
1934 Goudey 23 Charley Gehringer 8 $1,400 $575
1933 Goudey 127 Mel Ott 8 $2,200 $850
1934 Goudey 6 Dizzy Dean 8 $4,250 $1,400
1934 Diamond Stars 44 Rogers Hornsby 9 $5,000 $1,500

The reason I ask is that I've noticed a lot of Diamond Stars and 1934 Goudeys selling only at 1/2 or 2/3 of SMR's values on eBay. Should I consign to one of the big auctions? Should I sell them card by card or just have a big lot of all 16? All 16 of these have snow-white borders and most have perfect or almost-perfect corners. I didn't take pictures before I sent them to PSA, but you can see them from the auction where I bought them: http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=220635047756&ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT#ht_514wt_1137

Thanks,
spencerdorsey

Comments