Home U.S. Coin Forum

Any recourse for a burnt novice?

I'll try do do this posting abiding the rules. I'm very new to coins but last year (September 09) I decided to purchase some gold coins and made the mistake of listening to a radio show advert and calling this certain telemarketer company. Well, in short, I was fleeced and scammed royally. Three main problems - and I am asking you folks for help - do I have any recourse or do U just stay ripped off and learn my lesson the hard way? The 3 problems are 1. I asked for the St Gaudens to be MS65's only, and I received 1 at MS62. I stated I didnt want any coins under MS62 and I received a $5 Liberty MS61. 2. I took the coins to a couple local ANA Directory dealers and they said that 2 coins were 'overgraded', e.g. one of the St Gaudens MS65 has a bunch of black spots on the back, and at mint grade 65, shouldn't. 3. Lastly, the phone agent tole me she was quoting 'market prices' but I learnt later that there was a 15-28% mark-up OVER market prices, about $2,000 for a $11,000 purchase, and I feel duped, scammed, ripped off. To make it worse, the very expensive MS65 St Gaudens with the black splotches was purchased for over $3,000!! It's not really worth even half of that, according to the local dealers I showed the coins to. Needless to say this tlelmarketer company refuses to take the coins back for a full refund, and the 'Customer Service' Manager actually tried to scam me again - recommending the coins with the greatest mark-down to buy back, even though he clearly understands I want minimal financial losses over this disgusting situation. Has this happened to anyone else here - and what recourse do I have? ~ Burnt Novice
Devi

Comments

• curlycurly Posts: 2,880
    Brother, I don't have anything to offer but my sympathy. You ain't the first and you won't be the last.

By way, welcome to the forum.
    Every man is a self made man.
  • RampageRampage Posts: 9,416 ✭✭✭✭