Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

Nicely Rounded '52 Mantle

There sure are a bunch of bids on a card that doesn't look like the real deal to me. What do you guys think? It looks like scissors were taken to the corners of this card to make it look old. Not graded is another red flag. Maybe Topps is the high bidder and will give it away in their contest.

Rounded Corners '52 Mantle

Comments

• jeffcbayjeffcbay Posts: 8,948 ✭✭✭✭
    It says in the description that they're selling it as a reprint.
  • I saw that Jeff, but are people bidding it up that high thinking it's authentic? I don't get it.
  • jeffcbayjeffcbay Posts: 8,948 ✭✭✭✭
    Could be potential scammers buying the next bogus Mantle, or it could be people trying to get what could be a real Mantle for a reprint price. I'm no Mantle expert, but besides the corner trimming, it kinda looks authentic. How much would it be worth in a PSA 1 or AUTH slab?
  • Take a look at his negatives:

Toolhaus

Collecting all things Pittsburgh.

Completed my Clemente Basic Registry (2007 - 2014)!

Positive transactions with oakesy25,jasoneggert,swartz1,MBMiller25,gregm13,kid4hof03,HoopGuru33,Reese3333,BPorter26,Davemri
  • storm888storm888 Posts: 11,701 ✭✭✭

Terrible toolhaus.

If the card was real, it would be in a PSA slab.

Seller also omitted the "original or reprint" tab in Item Specifics.

His "reprint" disclaimer - buried in the description - will not stand
    up to a PayPal claim.

Folks Who Bite Get Bitten. Folks Who Don't Bite Get Eaten.
  • stevekstevek Posts: 27,571 ✭✭✭✭✭
    The usual list it as a reprint to satisfy ebay rules so the auction doesn't get pulled, then cleverly word the auction so that the card seems real, along with the shill bids using herd mentality to try to suck in one fish to bid on it.

This is the newest type of scam on ebay, and it is a scam in my opinion.
  • TonyCTonyC Posts: 1,399 ✭✭✭