Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

My 16 Walking Liberty Half grade question

veryfineveryfine Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭
This 1916 WLH is a PCGS MS-64 (CAC) and one of my favorite coins. As usual, the scan presented here does not accurately display the luster on this coin. However, not a bad image.
My question is for Walker experts, but all opinions are welcome.
Why didn't this coin make it to the 65 level? I realize the difficulty in grading from a scanned image, but give it a try. The coin is lustrous with a nice strike, despite some weakness here and there. It is also minimally marked. Perhaps the shortcomings are obvious, but I just don't see them.
Please enlighten me, as I am not a WLH expert.

Comments

• Options
    Possibly some die polishing in the field. Also, am I seeing a hit below the breast? If so, that may be part of it. I'm not an expert, just a fan of the series!
  • Options
    I see luster breaks, looks like you have a mark on the right chest just below the breast plate, there are some "chatter" in the fields as well-while a good strike there is weakness-

Appears to be a contact mark above the motto- I think it is a nice 64 but I believe luster is the MAJOR inhibitor from 65

John
  • Options
    DennisHDennisH Posts: 13,963 ✭✭✭✭✭
    With Morgans (the area with which I'm by far most familiar), absence of marks is just one ingredient for high grades. In addition, I believe PCGS also wants a certain "look" for the MS65 grade... a combination of lustre, strike, and freedom from distractions that adds up to a level of eye appeal causes the coin to have an instant visual "pop" when you first see it. I've been told that dies for early date Walkers were simply not made in such a way that the coins would have very much "pop". I know it's a poor explanation, but it's the best I can do.
    When in doubt, don't.
  • Options
    There's plenty of luster, but unfortunately, the scan does not show this.