Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Jackie Robinson Proof sets: To grade or not to grade?

PSASAPPSASAP Posts: 2,284 ✭✭✭
Hey guys, I'm a novice to coin collecting, but I've been a PSA card collector for years. Anyway, I bought a couple of 1997 Jackie Robinson silver and gold proof sets (five dollar gold coin and silver dollar). I'm wondering if it's worth it to send the coins in for grading, or just sell the set as is. Is there much upside to having these graded, and what should I look for on the coins to determine if they're grade-worthy. Any help is much appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    IIRC, the gold coins are a low mintage coin and slabbing them would be a great thing.

• Options
    They are a great set and slabbing them would be good and if it makes you happy to have them graded then go for it.

But, will slabbing them increase their value, are you doubting the authenticity, is it necessary? It will protect them but then again so would airtites.

For me... I'd buy some high quality airtites and take the money I would have spent on slabbing and buy a nice card, coin or other collectible.

Honestly though, what ever you choose, the Robinson set is awesome and congrats on a GREAT addition to your collection! image
  • Options
    CoinJunkieCoinJunkie Posts: 8,772 ✭✭✭✭✭
    If you don't get either coin to grade 70, you will probably end up losing money by getting
    them graded. Check the coins for spots, marks, and haze. If you see anything distracting,
    forgo the grading if the plan is just to sell.
  • Options
    DieClashDieClash Posts: 3,688 ✭✭✭

<< <i>If you don't get either coin to grade 70, you will probably end up losing money by getting
    them graded. Check the coins for spots, marks, and haze. If you see anything distracting,
    forgo the grading if the plan is just to sell. >>