Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Spot Price Silver

I just started my collection and def a newbie. When I graduated from collage back in '94 and got my first 'real' job in an accounting firm, We all setup 401K's. One guys whispered to me... got some advice for you.... always invest in gold! of course I didn't take his advice and put 10% straight into my 401K. Now, 15 year later, my 401K isn't doing so hot! but gold has jumped from $350 per z to $1000!!! A few month ago, I decided to start investing in silver. I bought some '09 Eagle bullions, a few rolls of '64 kennedys, some PCGS 70 lincoln commemeratives and silver dollars. Yes, I bought the 5 rolls of LP2 lincolns hoping to make a few quick bucks. With the price of silver reaching $15.67 per z today, what are your thought for buying now in this market? do you feel the trend is going up or down? Also, If I stick with silver and not gold... I would be looking at spending 100-200 per month... should i stick with bullion or go for some morgans?
BarefootJuan

Positive BST Transactions with a bunch of members

One man gathers what another man spills

Comments

• Options
    Honestly, Morgan silver dollars have a silver content of 0.77344 troy ounces (24.057 grams) per coin.

If you want to invest in silver, you can stick to the common Morgans and they should hold their value better than bullion due to the collectability of the coin.

If Silver drops down to $5 you’ll still have the collectable coin, if silver jumps to $18 as it did last year or, $20 to $25, there’s should be enough silver in the Morgan to push the value up along with the spot price.

It’s hard to go wrong with an extremely popular coin such as the Morgan.
  • Options
    RobbRobb Posts: 2,034