Home Metal Detecting
Options

Any info on this button?

Hello, This is my first post on this particular forum, as I'm fairly new to the "PCGS Family of Forums".
I found this button today with my Explorer II at about 4" deep in nice soft rich loamy soil. I was in one of my favourite parks here in Adelaide and was quite happy to see this pop out of the ground.
Obviously, some details about it are stated on the button itself, but what would it have been used for? A garment button, or a pin-on for a celebration? This was during the height of fighting (Australia Day falls on Jan26 of each year) in WWI and I'm sure would have been quite a solemn ceremony/gathering.
Can any of you button collectors out there tell me if these are rare or have any value?
Anyway, I think it's one of the coolest finds I've made in a while!

Thanks for looking!

Stub

"AUSTRALIA DAY. ADELAIDE 1918"

Comments

• Options
    BillyKingsleyBillyKingsley Posts: 2,661 ✭✭✭✭
    I don't know what it is, but nice find! WWI fascinates me.
    Billy Kingsley ANA R-3146356 Cardboard History // Numismatic History
  • Options
    Digging trash and treasure since 1977
  • Options
    Great find!
  • Options
    Nice button...one I have never seen...Great find!
  • Options
    Hi,
    The 1918 Australia Day Magpie Stick Pin/Badge on the Ebay site has a "Buy it now" price of $12.50 plus $3.50 shipping for an apparently mint condition pin. Here is what I found on Australia Day below. I don't think the pin is a War item but a commerative item for this day as I have seen other items with different dates, some even have farmers, wagons and produce on them.