Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Set collectors- Show off your labor of love

A board member asked me to send him scans of my 86-87 Fleer basketball set, so I thought a thread for people to show off their complete sets would be fun. Let me start by saying that I don't collect graded cards. I may buy graded, but I crack them out of the slabs if they are going to end up in my personal collection. I know I'm giving away value, but I have no intention of selling anything once it's collection-worthy, so I figure I might as well display the cards the way I want to.

This is a set I've always wanted to complete, and did once before in the 90s but was forced to sell it after getting out of college because I was broke. Luckily I am no longer broke so I decided to put together a nice mint looking raw set. I've been buying lots and complete sets of this stuff for about 6 months and harvesting them for mint looking cards. The trick for me was I wanted to be able to profit off all the PSA 10s and low pop PSA 9s as a way to offset my costs. I got lucky with a 500 card lot of commons I bought that graded out very well and when all was said and done, ended up breaking about even with everything and have this set to show for my efforts. The Jordan was in a PSA 8 slab, but I think it presents like a mint card. A little OC but otherwise very sharp. The Malone is the only card that's been in my collection since the 80s, and even though it's OC and has a touched corner I'm not replacing it. The set as a whole is not perfect by anyone's standards, but an upgrade would mean all hi end PSA 9 and PSA 10 quality cards, which would end up costing about 2.5 times what this one does. I've got other stuff to spend that money on.

So what sets have you guys been collecting?

Comments

• Options
    Check my sig line and my photobucket link. I've been working on the 2000 CE Supreme set on and off since they came out.
  • Options
    perkdogperkdog Posts: 29,523 ✭✭✭✭✭