Home PCGS Set Registry Forum
Options

New Current Finest Set - Mint State Liberty Nickels

I have been working on my mint state Liberty Nickel set for almost two years. I found it incredibly difficult to find gem grades in all but the more common dates (regardless of price). I was fortunate to have had the chance to purchase the previous Frank Thomas finest set through Pinnacle Rarities. My current set is the best of my original pieces and the Thomas pieces. I would highly recommend this series to anyone who is interested in these beautiful pieces. I believe they are still greatly undervalued, and thus a reasonable investment opportunity as well as a great challenge to collect.

Take a look at the set and images. It is listed as the Typetone Mint State Liberty Nickel Set.

Cheers

Greg

Comments

• Options
    dbldie55dbldie55 Posts: 7,719 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Greg, I was going to comment on this yesterday when I saw the set listed. I know that Frank was waiting for a 1907 to finish his set (saw ads in Numismatic News from him for many issues). Is this a tougher date, or was he just looking for the "right" one.

Also, this is a terrible series to collect, and everyone should avoid it like the plague until I get some more of them. image

I would love to see it though, especially if it lived in my safe.
    Collector and Researcher of Liberty Head Nickels. ANA LM-6053
  • Options

Congrats !! I keep thinking about trying these little gems, but type seems to keep me occupied.
  • Options
    MarkMark Posts: 3,522 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Greg: