Home Metal Detecting
Options

When it comes to finds, it's all about context for me!

kiyotekiyote Posts: 5,568 ✭✭✭✭✭
I have an Anthropology degree, and I know there's some archaeologist vs. detectorist debate out there-- I think I'm right on the middle of the fence. I've posted some finds only to be told: "Keep looking, the good stuff is out there!"-- but, like with the 54-S cent I found in the 50s era home, I was excited mostly because it fit the context of where I was searching. As exciting as finding a foreign gold coin would be in that yard, it wouldn't make sense.

I found a cheap, tin spoon in the field next to our farmhouse near the foundation of some long-razed homes. It turns out those homes were a few shacks set up for folks during the depression. It's exciting knowing the history of what you've found for me more than any monetary value.

Well, that depends on how much monetary value we're talking, I suppose. image

In any case, I'd encourage all not to just toss aside "junk" that isn't silver or gold and think about the broader context of the find. It'll help you get through the days when you're digging nothing but junk.
"I'll split the atom! I am the fifth dimension! I am the eighth wonder of the world!" -Gef the talking mongoose.

Comments

• Options
    i hear ya kiyote....i too find great pleasure in the historical aspect of our hobby as i'm sure most md'ers do....the ones who are in it for the money, soon get out of it for the lack of the money...know what i mean verne?... "sj > st" the sum of the junk is greater than the sum of the treasure ( theory/formula of metaldetectreasurty) hh
    "see ya at the beach"
    imageimageimageimage
  • Options