Home Metal Detecting
Options

"Got the lead out today" -or- "The Dirty Dozen... + 1"

Today I stumbled on to a site that started providing Civil War era 3-ring bullets (aka the "3-ringer", or "3-ring minie ball"). The first one I dug today was already considered my "prize of the day," but I had know clue that I'd be digging 1 dozen more! I'm not an expert on these, so I'm not sure if these would be 69 or 59 cal. Maybe one of you CW buffs would know.

The two on the bottom left were the nicest ones dug today, and one of those appears it may even be a carved bullet (not sure if it just hit something in an odd fashion). No old coins today, but these told me I was in the right area. image

Happy hunting everyone.

Comments

• Options
    crispycrispy Posts: 792 ✭✭✭
    One heck of a nice job gathering that baker's dozen! How big was the area that you searched? Were they concentrated in one spot or spread out?
    "to you, a hero is some kind of weird sandwich..."
  • Options
    <--------- You did say Dirty Dozen no?
  • Options
    davbecdavbec Posts: 321 ✭✭
    Wow! Thats really cool.
  • Options
    DockwalliperDockwalliper Posts: 1,169 ✭✭✭
    Looks like you found the landing spot. You need to find where they were shot from to get the dropped goodies.
    There was a neat article in "American Digger" last month about using fired bullets to determint where the shooter was positioned.
  • Options

<< <i>Looks like you found the landing spot. You need to find where they were shot from to get the dropped goodies.
    There was a neat article in "American Digger" last month about using fired bullets to determint where the shooter was positioned. >>

That's a great idea. The actual firing areas may contain artifacts waiting to be discovered.
  • Options
    guitarwesguitarwes Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭

How in the world can you tell where a shooter fired from over 140 years after they shot?

Link to article in American Digger?

wes