Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Airplanenut's Charity Auction #7... Donations Now Being Accepted! [***Note to 2010: OLD THREAD***]

airplanenutairplanenut Posts: 21,908 ✭✭✭✭✭
Hi,

Those who have been on the boards for a while may remember Charity Auction #1, which took place in early 2003 when I was a high school sophomore. At that time, I couldn't drive, I thought school was easy, my parents were responsible for the trouble I didn't cause (let's be honest, I was a pretty good kid), and I had no idea how true it is that you can accomplish anything if you put your mind and heart to it. Now, things are a bit different. In the last year I've spent far more time flying planes than driving cars, my classes are incredibly challenging, I'm old enough to buy alcohol (just turned 21), and I've seen my initial attempt at raising a few hundred dollars take off into something incredible.

For those who haven't been around since that time, I've been running charity auctions on the PCGS and NGC message boards since 2003, and have run 7 so far. The first one began after I did a research project in 10th grade biology on pancreatic cancer, which took my grandfather in 2000. His life was aviation, having worked as a mechanic for the Royal Air Force, BOAC in London, Continental in Los Angeles, and finally as a professor in a technical college. He would have gone into engineering, but was never able to go to college, so he did the most he could. I fell in love with aviation in July of 1998 while on a family trip to France, England, and Scotland that put me on 5 flights. My new passion was my first connection with my grandfather (and the only real connection he had with any of his 5 grandsons--no granddaughters), and it was cut short when he passed away in 2000.