Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum

Fro-Joy Babe Ruth --- reprint, right?

I'm 99% sure this is a reprint but I thought I'd put it to the experts. Any chance this is authentic? Stock looks much darker than those I've seen and I never saw the printed perforations on the front. Any thoughts?

Comments

• zep33zep33 Posts: 6,897 ✭✭✭
    not sure about the card but I could sure go for a big bowl of Youth Units
  • I can not tell .
    But the card is unbelievably clean !

It looks like he has bubble gum on the top of his cap , Just like Phil Rizzuto .

Sometimes my scans come out darker than they are in real life though .

Sweet looking card !
  • bluemarlinbluemarlin Posts: 627 ✭✭✭
    image chock full of "YOUTH UNITS" that's classic.

Jake
  • Stone193Stone193 Posts: 24,351 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Here's a copy from the Old Cardboard web:

From my recollection, the ones that are dead giveaways are the colored full sheets which were reprinted by the zillions in the 60s I believe.

I'm no expert on detecting a fake - but if it's not in a legitimate graded holder and on ebay? Well the odds aren't good I guess.

My guess? Fake.

mike
    Mike
  • Im not sure there are two many experts on these cards. The fakes are so good most companies do not grade them.
    My baseball and MMA articles-
    http://sportsfansnews.com/author/andy-fischer/

imagey
  • You're correct on the counterfeit... Not even close.
  • I did find this though and I hope it helps . . . .

QUESTION: How can I tell if a 1927 Fro Joy Babe Ruth card is the real one or reprint?

ANSWER: The rule of thumb with the Froy Joy Babe Ruth cards and uncut sheets is to only buy one if you really know what you are doing, or from someone who really knows what he or she’s doing.