Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

Old San Francisco mint cornerstone

I have always been intrigued by the fact that the cornerstone has never been located. Im not an expert on building in anyway, but I find it odd that after so many years no one has located it. Is there any published articles on this subject that anyone here can share?

any opinions?

Go BIG or GO HOME. ©Bill

Comments

• Options
    AUandAGAUandAG Posts: 24,539 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Not familiar with the SF mint cornerstone. Are you sure there was one? Not all buildings have cornerstones
    that contain memorbilia.

bob
    Registry: CC lowballs (boblindstrom), bobinvegas1989@yahoo.com
  • Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I have researched cornerstone placement.. and while it was traditionally the northeast corner... there were variations. Some did not have them... while many have been 'lost' to history. I have some buildings that I would love to identify the cornerstone placement. Cheers, RickO
  • Options
    kevinstangkevinstang Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭

<< <i>Not familiar with the SF mint cornerstone. Are you sure there was one? Not all buildings have cornerstones
    that contain memorbilia >>

Oh, yeah, some nearly unique coins were supposedly struck just for the purpose of putting them in there, can't remember which ones exactly, but believe the year was 1870?
  • Options
    MrHalfDimeMrHalfDime Posts: 3,440 ✭✭✭✭
    Two contemporary numismatic researchers and authors, Richard Kelly and Nancy Oliver, have conducted extensive research into the San Francisco Mint cornerstone, its whereabouts, and its contents. They published their research in a front page article in the April 12, 2004 Coin World. I found the following press release with a simple Google search:

SAN FRANCISCO MINT CORNERSTONE MYSTERY CRACKED

Rich Kelly and Nancy Oliver write: "After six years of
    searching we have found something that we believe to be quite
    exciting news. We have found government documented proof