Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

What would you do in this situation?

2»

Comments

• Options
    GrivGriv Posts: 2,804
    Some of the difficulty I experienced in my younger days was that typical situation where local dealers would take my hard earned money from mowing lawns (back in the days when kids actually did that) and sell me trash. Sure I studied the few books available back then but the older and wiser dealer could easily convince my young mind and who was I to question him. The few times I have been to shows I get that same feeling of standing there in a room of vultures.

Now I know that or at least hope that the majority of dealers are very honest and I have several that I buy from and they have always been great to work with. But it's that bad banana that ruins the bunch and I think they turn a lot of new collectors off because it's buyer beware in a big way. With that said, I don't think I would say anything to the buyer or the seller but I think I would question my relationship with the seller. image
  • Options
    kiyotekiyote Posts: 5,568 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I've been in a situation like that. I don't say anything. My dealer did the right thing. A lady walked in with a gold 1 oz panda and she had NO idea what it was worth. He gave her spot +$5.00 for it.
    "I'll split the atom! I am the fifth dimension! I am the eighth wonder of the world!" -Gef the talking mongoose.
  • Options
    PerryHallPerryHall Posts: 45,447 ✭✭✭✭✭

<< <i>I've been in a situation like that. I don't say anything. My dealer did the right thing. A lady walked in with a gold 1 oz panda and she had NO idea what it was worth. He gave her spot +$5.00 for it. >>

What would he have paid if you weren't there watching him? image

Worry is the interest you pay on a debt you may not owe.

• Options
    oxy8890oxy8890 Posts: 1,416