Home Metal Detecting

What's the best over all type and make of metal Detector?

Ok, SO, what should I buy?
Thanks!
Liberty Loan Bond Man

Comments

• BunchOBullBunchOBull Posts: 6,188 ✭✭✭
    Haha, well, asking that question is like asking:

1) Who is the best automobile company?

2) What is the best political party?

3) Who has the best college football team?

I mean, I personally am a White's user, but there are several other brands I've considered purchasing. If money is no object, I'd suggest a White's DFX, secondly a White's XLT, MXT, or M6...so on and so on. I am an XLT user. However, the DFX's main competitor (dual frequency) I believe is named a Minelab Explorer SE (correct me if I'm wrong), and Explorer users will swear by their machines. If you want a machine that will challenge your ability as an operator, I'd go with a White's for the simple fact that "mastery" of their machines means having an understanding of detecting that will carry you successfully through any hunting environment. There are so many ways to tweak and perfect the machine for each site you hunt, it's great. If you want turn on and go simplicity, without many variables to adjust, other brands may be right for you. This question is basically only answerable by the individual, not the group as a whole, but I hope this is helpful. Let me know if you have any questions.

Ross
    Collector of most things Frank Thomas. www.BigHurtHOF.com
  • lordmarcovanlordmarcovan Posts: 43,194 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Since this is such a frequently-asked question, I addressed it here.

It's long and wordy (oh so typical of me), and I do not mention any specific brands, but here you go.

WHAT KIND OF DETECTOR SHOULD I BUY?