Home Metal Detecting
Options

Help! Hand Detectors

I'm a beginner and thinking of purchasing a Hand Detector(pointer).

Is the Garrett Security Detector Modell 11651 good one? I'm looking on Ebay and also was wondering what a good price would be.

Thanks for any input!!!!!

Rich

Comments

• Options

<< <i>I'm a beginner and thinking of purchasing a Hand Detector(pointer). Is the Garrett Security Detector Modell 11651 good one? I'm looking on Ebay and also was wondering what a good price would be. Thanks for any input!!!!! Rich >>

What do you want to use it for?

http://www.intapol.com/police-security/equipment/accessories/product.php?product=garrett-metal-detector&productid=19245&cat=274&page=1

Jerry
    CROCK of COINS
    imageimage
  • Options
    Hi Jerry! I'll be using it with my Metal Detector when digging up coins, etc.
    Rich
  • Options
    DesertRatDesertRat Posts: 1,791

<< <i>Hi Jerry! I'll be using it with my Metal Detector when digging up coins, etc.
    Rich >>

The Whites Bullseye seems to be a popular choice, however there are many different types out there.
  • Options
    ZotZot Posts: 825 ✭✭✭
    I think the Garrett you've looked at is more meant for scanning people (for security purposes) than as a pinpointer.

Here are some examples of models that should be better suited for you: Kellyco
    Minelab: GPX 5000, Excalibur II, Explorer SE. White's: MXT, PI Pro
  • Options
    lordmarcovanlordmarcovan Posts: 43,218 ✭✭✭✭✭
    What Zot said. Get something designed for the purpose- you'll be able to get it down into a hole better, and you won't waste money on something unsuited for your needs.