Home Metal Detecting
Options

My First Post Here (detecting) / maybe COOL find

I have NO experience detecting. In fact, I don't own a detector (yet). But this last week while out at a very large complex for my daughters softball practice I decided to go for a walk and as usual take the time to look around to see if I can find anything.

Check out these pics. It passes all the preliminary tests of a meteorite. I'm awaiting a response from a university for confirmation testing. While its not real big as you can see; the little thing weighs almost 13 ounces; easily holds a magnet; either attracts or repels a compass depending on which end you point at the compass. It has a fusion crust with every edge rounded or melted. There are some tiny "rust" spots on it. It looks like a rock and is not iron slag. While not a coin, it was a pretty exciting find for me. I imagined that with you all using your detectors maybe you run across these from time to time; that is why I'm posting it here.

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Richard

imageimage
imageimage
imageimage
imageimage

Comments

• Options
    CladiatorCladiator Posts: 17,920 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Was it in a crater? image

Cool find man!
  • Options
    tmot99tmot99 Posts: 5,238 ✭✭✭
    That is VERY cool. Let us know if you find out for sure!
  • Options
    rickoricko Posts: 98,724 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Super find... if it is a meteorite, you have a really great treasure. Although valuable (to collectors etc), I would assume it holds much greater value to you ( it sure would to me). Cheers, RickO
  • Options
    guitarwesguitarwes Posts: 9,241 ✭✭✭
    that little buggar would probably blow your earphones right off of you would sweep across it with your detector.

nice find. hope it's not radioactive. keep us posted.

@ Elite CNC Routing & Woodworks on Facebook. Check out my work.
    Too many positive BST transactions with too many members to list.
  • Options
    LeeBoneLeeBone Posts: 4,317 ✭✭✭✭✭
  • Options
    sweet find