Home Trading Cards & Memorabilia Forum
Options

Help Me Price 1973 PSA

Guys;

I need your expert help once again. I have recently picked up about 8 1973 Baseball PSA 9's and 8's that are graded oc. I don't know haw to price them fairly. I have Rose, Bench, Yaz, Brock that are all graded 9 0c and a Ryan at an 8 oc. A friend has expressed interest, but I don't know how to come up witht he price that is not too much or too little. I just got back into collecting after 15 years and I am a rookie with the PSA stuff.(if you coldn't tell)

Thanks as Always;

Nolie

Comments

• Options
    jdip9jdip9 Posts: 1,895 ✭✭✭
    OC stuff is generally 2 grades lower...so your 9OC's are like PSA 7's...although if they just slightly OC, a fairer price may be closer to what it's worth as an 8.

hope that helps.
  • Options
    It's the most help I've gotten. The player or population does not matter? I see some people asking buy it now pricers that are between the 8 and 9. I assume they are trying to score a good price on something that a newer collector may not realize. I did not know if that was the case or because of the player if it made a difference.

Thanks
  • Options
    jimq112jimq112 Posts: 3,511 ✭✭✭
    Some cards with low pop and high demand are crazy high in 9s (or even 8s if there are no 9s) but the OC changes everything. The qualifiers limit the number of buyers who could be interested.

A low pop card (not many 9s) might bring $500 for a common, where it might only be worth $20 as an 8. That card as a psa 9 oc is only worth the 8 or less money, it doesn't get the premium that the 9 gets.

An example -

1950 bowman sam jethroe rc.

smr 9 - 285 pop 4 (9 oc pop 1)
    smr 8 - 150 pop 24
    smr 7 - 60 pop 27

It's a low pop in 9 so I would expect a 9 to bring several times the 285 smr price. An 8 sold recently on ebay for $375. I bought the 9 oc last year on ebay for about $30. There just isn't as much demand for the oc cards.