Home U.S. Coin Forum
Options

? about an auction bid history

in this AUCTION there is only 4 bids by 3 bidders and I am curious why the bid jumps from second bid of $6 to third bid $1000? I don't see that there was a reserve as when there is and it is met it show that the reserve was met and this one doesn't. So why the big jump? isn't it supposed to just go up to the next increment reguardless of what the next bidder enters? Just wondering as I am pretty new to this. BID HISTORY

Comments

• Options
    TomBTomB Posts: 20,734 ✭✭✭✭✭
    I'm going to guess that Bidder 2 bid $6 and that Bidder 3 bid $1,000 and that before Bidder 4 jumped into the fray that the history would have showed it as Bidder 2 at $6 and Bidder 3 at $7, or whatever the increment is at that level. However, once Bidder 4 bid at least $1,025 that the extent of Bidder 2's bid was revealed. Did that make sense?
    Thomas Bush Numismatics & Numismatic Photography

In honor of the memory of Cpl. Michael E. Thompson

• Options
    The level of these bids don't make any sense. the problem with now hiding bidders names is that shill bidding will become more common, though I am not suggesting it is the case on this one.
  • Options
    BochimanBochiman Posts: 25,300 ✭✭✭✭✭
    Bidder 1 made a bid that maxed at some low amount. Bidder 2 came in and placed a secret bid and was higher than the really low bidder 1 bid so it showed $6.
    However, when bidder 3 came in, at over $1000, it showed the max of what bidder 2 was willing to bid and trumped it (bid of $1000).
    Bidder 2 came back and trumped that ($1025 right now).

I certainly would have been out of the bidding very low on this one....someone better know their half cents to be bidding this high on coins looking like that.

Any 1/2 cent expert take a look and want to comment???

I've been told I tolerate fools poorly...that may explain things if I have a problem with you. Current ebay items - Nothing at the moment

• Options